Light Sunday ramblings

ye2

I don’t have much in the way of profound things to talk about this week. This week was a little all over the place, much like this post will be. Here are some highlights.

 

  • I am eating a delicious McDonalds breakfast sandwich. I also can’t believe it took McDonalds so long to get on the all-day breakfast train.
  • I am in the beginning stages of planning a bathroom remodel and it’s very overwhelming for me. This is a time in life where a partner would be nice. Someone to say “I like that sink” and for me to be like “Great, let’s get that one!” Alas, it is just me and my doubts of my choices for something that in the scope of the world, is very much a first-world problem.
  • I decided this week to quit using Tretinoin. For years I had used it once or twice a week with good results. 6 months ago my derm told me there was “no point” in my using it at all if I wasn’t working up to using it daily. That I would not get the anti-aging, skin smoothing benefits I wanted if not. So I very slowly worked my way to daily use and after about 3 months of daily use, my skin is worse than it has ever been. I have developed Orange peel texture, a very bizarre looking enlargement of pores and the overall texture is shit. After doing some internet digging I found all 3 of these things are not uncommon side effects that, according to users can take anywhere from 5 months to never to return back to normal. So that is just fucking super.
  • A lot of my family is having issues and going through hard things. I am hoping things turn around for them and also hoping my biggest concerns remain my skin and picking out a bathtub.
  • My bestie’s daughter turned 7 this week and I went to a small cake and ice cream gathering at her house. A couple days later, bestie said her daughter had a stomach virus a couple days later and now bestie and bestie’s bf, another kid who was at the party and their mom had it too. While at work, I had to urgently excuse myself to the “library” and was afraid I had the bug too. Turns out, I just ate a shit load of watermelon the day before and forgot about it.
  • During a recent checkup the vet found my dog to have elevated liver enzymes. Not too elevated he said but enough that we need to re-test in a few months. I fear my dog has a secret drinking problem I am unaware of.
  • My shoulder and wrist finally stopped hurting on Wednesday morning. And then promptly went back to shit Wednesday evening when back at the salon so, that’s a thing now I guess.
  • The irony of me finally starting this blog and naming it what I have is not lost on me this week, when I have kind of had enough of the beauty sub I belonged to that prompted me to consider blogging again. Between literally no moderation, me being semi doxxed with no action nor, reply from the mods until 8 days later. Coupled with people using my ideas a or taking credit for them elsewhere and I am reminded why I loathe to be part of any “group”. It always sounds good at the beginning but in the end, I always find myself fringe-ing my way out of them. It happens. It will probably happen again. Although, I am at fault in most ways for having my ideas used by others by not properly using them myself (in the form of a blog or social media post, claiming them) and I am at peace with that. I still don’t have in me to do the type of beauty reporting that is widely used. It’s all good at the end of the day.
  • It got up to 72 degrees here yesterday. Not too shabby for February. I had so many plans today based on a continuation of that weather for today. But no, woke up to chilly rain so. It remains to be seen if I will even leave this chair let alone the house.
  • I am absolutely obsessed with The Life Of Pablo, Kanye West’s latest album. If you are a Kanye hater, keep that shit to yourself. Stan for life, here.
  • Ultralight Beam is on constant loop this week. For an atheist, I sure love the sound of gospel music.

That’s about it. I hope to have something better for you soon. Just thought I would check in because I am sure you were at the edge of your seat, waiting to hear from me 🙂

 

http://www.nbc.com/saturday-night-live/video/kanye-west-ultralight-beam/2985373

 

 

 

9 comments

  1. adoredee · February 22, 2016

    Mr. calls it the library too! 😂 I thought it was a dumb thing he says, I had no idea this was so far reaching.

    Someone semi doxxed you and stole your ideas? Yeah, that place is over for me.

    Like

    • justputitonmyface · February 22, 2016

      “Library” started for me at my first real job out of school. That’s what everyone said to explain why they were headed to the *far away* bathroom instead of the one we all typically used. Plus, I still like to use it at work to indicate “I don’t know what’s about to go down, I might be a minute. Cover for me” lol

      Ya, well-they used my first name on the sub which I have not, nor has anyone else used on the sub. So. That’s neat. As far as idea stealing, its vague. None of us invented skincare or it’s concepts. It’s just a bummer to see what you have said repeated and otherwise credited I guess? But ya know-that will happen I guess?

      Liked by 1 person

      • adoredee · February 22, 2016

        Um. That’s super creepy. Sorry that happened to you dear. Did you contact the admins? Not the mods, the site admins. They’re pretty serious about things like that.

        Liked by 1 person

      • justputitonmyface · February 22, 2016

        Another user got screen shots and reported it to admins on my behalf. The person only used my first name in the sub so, as far as admin goes-it’s not dox worthy. But I am not a known blogger on the sub who’s name is out there or whatever so, it was startling. So they either creeped me on social media or the few people who know my real name told him, which is 100% unlikely.

        Liked by 1 person

      • adoredee · February 22, 2016

        WOW. That so.. I’m really sorry. Ugh. I worry for that forum. It isn’t what it once was.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Violet · June 23, 2016

    About the retin a…I’ve found they are not all created equal. I’ve never been able to use prescription Rentin A without horrid side effects. Then I went to Philosophy’s Help Me retinol night cream, and could only use it every other day…when I went everyday I had the bad effects you had, and it never got better. I started using a cheap Neutrogena Healthy Skin Anti Wrinkle Cream (retinol, fragrance free, for nighttime) a few moths ago, and BOOM! I could immediately use it daily and am getting huge benefits from it. Much, much smoother skin, less breakouts, and more importantly, zero irritation. I had almost given up on retinols after 15 years of trying, and am so thankful to have found it. Here it is on amazon if you’re interested: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00005K9CK/ref=twister_B00UDHE394?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

    Liked by 1 person

    • justputitonmyface · June 23, 2016

      I will definitely check that out! Thanks for the rec! I have been entertaining the idea of switching to retinols and dropping prescription strength all together. I used to use so much Philosophy! Their retionol pads are awesome also!

      Like

      • Violet · June 23, 2016

        Yeah, I tried to use those Retin A prescriptions for years in my 20’s due to my cystic acne, and they made a HORRID mess of my skin. I mean it was bad, and it never got better even when I decreased the nights I used it. I gave up retinoids completely for about 10 years and then tried the nonprescription ones in my mid 30’s; only now at age 43 have I found something that works. Unfortunately it takes a lot of time and money to find what works for an individual skin.

        Another tip…are you using a glycolic acid? I’ve tried all sorts of them, expensive and cheap, low concentrations to high, and have landed on a super cheap one that works the best for me. Do you remember the brand Proactive? They now have the generic version of it at Target and other stores. It’s $11 for the three-step system, but you only need the liquid bottle (which is the “second step”). It’s a 5% glycolic acid solution and it works way better than the more expensive, more concentrated ones. I love it when the cheap stuff is the best! Unfortunately, I have found only the more expensive moisturizers work for my skin…what I wouldn’t give to find a budget one for that step.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. justputitonmyface · June 24, 2016

    I do use a Glycolic, 8% about once a week. I have a 12% I also use once in awhile. My skin seems to do best with Mandelic or Lactic acids though. SO daily I use a light lactic and once a week an 18% mandelic. I’m kinda alll over the place with acids lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

