This ridiculous Sea Kelp sheet mask

I apologise in advance for the potato quality of the photos contained within this post. I  am a low effort “blogger” so hopefully this is the type of quality you have come to expect. But I couldn’t wait for things like proper editing to share this with people.

IMG_5324

I don’t even remember where I got this mask. (in searching for an ingredient list, I determined I got this from KoreaDepart. Go ahead and have a look because OBVIOUSLY the photos included at the bottom of this listing are full of lies)  But, I do remember that it was at a discount with other purchases I was making wherever I got it. Who doesn’t love some seaweed? So I think I got 4 of them.

I have used this once before with similar hilarious results but this time, decided to document it. It feels like a sea kelp-y kind of day.

This mask actually feels good on. It also feels good when I take it off. It’s everything in between that is a disaster.

The mask is called Kelp Real Sea Kelp Mask 100% Real Kelp Sheet. It is manufactured by Udin , the brand is Chung WOO. It has a really nice ingredient list, too:

Water, Aloe Barbadenis Leak Juice, Glycerin, Honey, Laminaria Japonica Extract, Camellia Extract, Paeonia, Suffruticosa Root Extract, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavendar) Flower/Leaf/Steam Extract, Biosaccharide Gum-1, Algae Extract, Ecklonia Cava Extract, Undaria Pinnatfida Extract, Rhus Semialata Gall Extract, Terminalia Chebula Fruit Extract, Glycyrrhiza Glabria (Licorice) Root Extract, Butylene Glycol, Cyclopentasilioxane, Xantham Gum, PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Algin, Sea Water, Adenosine, Fragrence, Phenoxyethanol.

(couldn’t find this on the net so I copied it from the back of the package, you’re welcome internet)

I can only assume this mask making method is similar to what you would make yourself using a DIY  mask maker. AKA a hot fucking mess. Granted, this video by beauty and health Eexpert Julie Wu produces a much thicker mask so maybe not as fragile. But I am suspicious as she clearly has to hold her head back to put it on and I assume, keep it from sliding off her face and falling apart.

IMG_5325

Here is what it looks like upon opening. It’s worth noting that by this time, I knew I had to be delicate and careful with removing it from the pouch and it still ripped. I believe it was ripped before I opened it just from being handled.

Let’s get to the point of this post, shall we?

IMG_5326

As you can see, I tried to “patch” where the piece ripped off and that didn’t go so well. In my defence, a mirror was not used for this application. I was sitting at my desk in my home office. It’s already sliding down and I have no idea what you are supposed to do with/about that nose flap.

 

IMG_5322

Just touching it to readjust it breaks apart one of the nose/cheek attachments. The other, dangerously hanging on.

IMG_5327

This photo is after about 13 minutes, I had enough. Hilariously, the directions recommend leaving it on 45 minutes. As if.

 

In closing, if you attempt to try out this sheet mask, be prepared to lie down for all of it’s use, and even then, good luck covering your whole face or not accidently suffocating on that nose flap. I would recommend using this while supervised. Because, so many lulz.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

